Article VI – Standing Committees

Section 1. The Marshall University Faculty Senate system shall include, in addition to the Faculty Senate itself, standing committees. One of these is designated the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate and shall function as part of the Faculty Senate. The other committees work in cooperation with, but are distinctly separate from the Faculty Senate. With the exception of the Executive Committee, the membership, officers, and relationships of the standing committees to the Faculty Senate are as follows.

Section 2. Membership. The membership of standing committees, unless otherwise specified, shall include one senator appointed by the Faculty Senate Chair to serve a two-year term. This member shall be the “Liaison.” This appointment may be renewed for one additional consecutive term. Other membership shall consist of one member elected by the faculties of each academic unit as defined in Bylaw #14. One undergraduate student, appointed by the Student Government Association, will also serve with exceptions as noted. This shall be the voting membership of the committees. Ex-officio, nonvoting members will be designated according to each committee’s nature and functions. The length of faculty membership on committees shall be four (4) years. Faculty members may serve no more than two consecutive terms on any one standing committee and may not serve on any two standing committees simultaneously.

Section 3. Officers. Officers of the standing committees will be a chair and a recording secretary. The chairs of the committees and the recording secretaries will be elected by the voting members of their standing committees. The terms of office shall be one (1) year, and may be renewed up to a maximum of four (4) successive terms (i.e., four years). The committee may remove an officer by a “motion to rescind the election.” The successor of an officer removed in this manner shall serve until the next regularly scheduled election for that office. The chair is responsible for establishing the committee’s agenda with the assistance of the recording secretary; presiding over committee meetings; and reporting committee actions to the Faculty Senate. The chair shall also notify all committee members of the Faculty Senate’s response to committee actions. The chair, with the assistance of the recording secretary shall prepare an annual report on the committee’s work at the end of the academic year and this will be submitted
to the Executive Committee for publication. The recording secretary will also be responsible for keeping minutes of all committee meetings; for accurately recording and reporting votes of the committee; and for assisting the committee chair in the preparation and submission of the committee’s annual report.

Section 4. A. Committee-Senate Relationship. Standing committees shall meet of their own accord; or when requested to by the Faculty Senate Chair, the Executive Committee, or the Faculty Senate. All actions, with the exceptions as noted, taken by Standing Committees shall be subject to final review and approval by the Faculty Senate. In the event the Faculty Senate does not concur with committee actions, a full and detailed rationale must be provided in writing.

B. Quorum Requirements in Standing Committees. A quorum shall consist of a simple majority (50% plus one) of the voting members.

C. Rules of Procedures for Standing Committees. The parliamentary authority of the standing committees shall be the latest edition of Robert’s Rules of Order.


Other Resources


Old Main 310
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755


Shawn Schulenberg - Chair
Eryn Roles - Assistant Chair
Sujoy Bose - Recording Secretary


Zelideth Rivas - Parliamentarian


Hailey Bibbee - Office Administrator