Legislative Affairs Committee (LAC)

This committee will develop an annual faculty legislative agenda in general consultation with, but independent of other constituencies on this campus. The committee will serve as the liaison with the faculty on all legislative matters and report to the Faculty Senate on a regular basis regarding all actions contemplated or required in executing its responsibilities. This committee will publish (in timely fashion) information regarding legislative issues. The committee will disseminate information on upcoming elections and referenda that pertain to issues affecting the welfare of public higher education. The committee will promote the faculty legislative agenda with the legislative and executive branches of the state government. This committee will not engage in partisan politics of any kind. This committee will not take stands on issues unrelated to the welfare of public higher education.

Member Department College Term Ends Term #
Burnis Morris Journalism & Mass Communications CAM 2025 1
Stephen T. Young Criminal Justice & Criminology COS 2023 1
Tim Burbery English COLA 2025 1
Heather Lauer Library ULIB 2023 1
Elizabeth Niese Liaison FS 2022 n/a
Casey Baker Accountancy/Legal Environment COB 2025 2
Richard Begley Engineering CECS 2023 1
Alysha Nicole Nichols Graduate Social Work Program COHP 2025 2
George Watson Curriculum, Instruction and Foundations COEPD 2023 1
James Becker Family Medicine SOM 2023 1
Brian Gallagher Pharmacy Practice SOP 2023 2
Abby Ayes SGA Representative Student
TO BE APPOINTED SGA Representative Grad Student

Ex-Officio, Nonvoting Members

Carol Hurula Classified Staff Council Representative
Tim Melvin Classified Staff Council Representative
Rich Sutphin GSC Representative
Tracy Christofero South Charleston At-Large Representative
Amine Oudghiri-Otmani MU ACF Representative
Robin Riner Faculty Representative to the MU Board of Governors
Bill Burdette President’s Legislative Liaison
Susan Hubbard Former Legislator
Jody Smirl Former Legislator


Other Resources


Old Main 310
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755


Shawn Schulenberg - Chair
Elizabeth Niese - Assistant Chair
Sujoy Bose - Recording Secretary


Zelideth Rivas - Parliamentarian


Jebediah Dickerson - Administrative Associate