Music scholarship competition to be held Feb. 28

The Marshall University School of Music and Theatre will hold its annual competition for the Belle Jackson and Lynum Jackson Memorial Award and the Paul A. Balshaw Award at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 28, in Smith Recital Hall on Marshall’s Huntington campus.

“This is the most prestigious competition in the university’s music program,” said Dr. Wendell Dobbs, music program director at Marshall.

According to Dobbs, winners will receive a cash award, and, in the case of the Belle and Lynum Jackson Award, present a winner’s recital scheduled for Sunday, April 17, in Smith Recital Hall.

“The Sunday, Feb. 28 competition will feature both semifinal and final rounds and will be adjudicated by a panel of external judges,” Dobbs said. “The first-place winner receives the Belle and Lynum Jackson award, while the second-place winner receives the Balshaw award.”

The year’s competition, chosen through a preliminary selection process, features the following students, in alphabetical order by last name:

  • Erik Anderson, guitarist
  • Jordan Carinelli, saxophonist
  • Robert Jenks, trombonist
  • Matthew Monnig, pianist
  • Gabriel Muncy, trumpeter
  • Scott Nibert, clarinetist
  • Jonathan Thorne, guitarist
  • Yuhao Zhou, violinist

The competition is free and open to the public. For more information, call 304-696-3117.