College of Science

Welcome to Marshall University’s College of Science

The Third Avenue facade of Marshall University’s Science Building in Huntington, WV is adorned with tributes to influential scientists – all framing the phrase, “Science is Truth, Truth is Beauty.”

Science, at its core, is the collaborative search for truth. The process – making observations, asking a question, performing research, formulating a hypothesis, developing an experiment, collecting data, analyzing results, and reporting conclusions – is more than just a method. It’s critical thinking. It’s identifying problems and problem solving.

The process is collaborative by its nature. New perspectives bring in different experiences and additional expertise, improving each step of the process. Cultivating consensus coalesces confidence. Each answer discovered spurs new questions.

Science is the process of discovery that seeks to explain the truth of the world in which we live, and better understanding this truth amplifies the beauty of our world.

Science is Truth, Truth is Beauty quote on Science Building facade at night


What the College of Science Offers

Our college is committed to offering an enriching academic experience through our dedicated faculty, cutting edge curriculum, and affordable tuition. Our outstanding faculty includes award-winning professors and accomplished scholars devoted to academic excellence. Among thousands of our esteemed graduates are leaders in medicine, business, research, public service, and academia. We provide the very best learning and laboratory facilities, and we focus on providing students with career choice information and academic advising to ensure each student graduates with their degree in four years. Whether you’re an incoming freshman or pursuing a doctoral degree, the College of Science can help you find success in all you do.

Student Experience
The College of Science is a dynamic institute for all things science, innovation, and research.
Degrees & Programs
The college offers a wide spectrum of science, pre-professional / pre-health care, and integrated technology programs.
Research Opportunities
To be interactive with the community and respond to contemporary and future needs of society and the scientific community.


About the College of Science

The College of Science (COS) was established in 1976 and is comprised of ten departments within four schools: School of Biological and Environmental Sciences, School of Forensic and Criminal Justice Sciences, School of Mathematics and Applied Informatics, and School of Physical Sciences. While the College of Science Dean’s Office is located in Science Building room 270, the college operates out of several buildings including Science Building, Morrow Library, Smith Hall, and the Forensic Science Center. Some lecture and laboratory classes and faculty offices also are in the Robert C. Byrd Biotechnology Science Center and the Weisberg Applied Engineering Complex.

Our Schools and Departments

Cost of Attendance & Financial Assistance

Of Undergraduate Students Received
Some Form of Financial Aid
In Total Financial Aid Awarded
One of the most affordable universities in America
Marshall was named one of the top 100 most affordable universities in America by Best Value Schools.
Awarded in Federal Grants
In Institutional Scholarships and Grants Awarded


The Office of Student Financial Assistance is committed to assisting you in planning for and meeting your educational costs. Marshall University is already one of the most affordable universities in America; students in the College of Science also have many scholarships available at the college and departmental levels to help defray the cost of their education.


College of Science News


Contact the College of Science

Have a question about the College of Science? You can reach us at or 304-696-2372.

Prospective and current students seeking academic information may wish to contact the advisors at the college’s Office of Student Services.

Students seeking a career in healthcare may wish to contact the advisors of the college’s Pre-Professional Healthcare Studies.

If you have questions pertaining to a particular department within the college, you may wish to contact the appropriate department office.

Give to the College of Science
Marshall University is an institutional member of the Council on Undergraduate Research